Mindfulness and self care

Mindfulness is a mental state achieved by focusing one's awareness on the present moment, while calmly acknowledging and accepting one's feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations, used as a therapeutic technique.

Work to develop the three key characteristics of mindfulness:

  • Intention to cultivate awareness (and return to it again and again)
  • Attention to what is occurring in the present moment (simply observing thoughts, feelings, sensations as they arise)
  • Attitude that is non-judgmental, curious, and kind.

Self-care describes a conscious act one takes in order to promote their own physical, mental, and emotional health

The 8 areas of Self-Care

  • Physical Self-care. Involves movement of the body, health, nutrition, sleep, rest, physical touch and sexual needs. 
  • Psychological Self-Care  
  • Emotional Self Care 
  • Professional Self Care 
  • Social Self Care
  • Environmental Self Care
  • Spiritual Self Care 
  • Financial Self Care

Physical self-care

  • Develop a regular sleep routine.
  • Aim for a healthy diet.
  • Take lunch breaks.
  • Go for a walk at lunchtime.
  • Take your dog for a walk after work.
  • Use your sick leave.
  • Get some exercise before/after work regularly.

Emotional self-care

  • Develop friendships that are supportive.
  • Write three good things that you did each day.
  • Play a sport and have a coffee together after training.
  • Go to the movies or do something else you enjoy.
  • Keep meeting with your parents' group or other social group.


Contact Me



Cheryl A Hurley LCSW LLC


call for availability


Call for availability


Call for availability


Call for availability


call for availability